Swine Building Ventilation Workshops Set for March

link opens in new window/tab pdf file opens in new window/tab

Iowa State University ventilation trailer.

AMES, Iowa – Pork producers can learn more about building ventilation from the inside out through a series of workshops in mid-March. Iowa Pork Industry Center joins Iowa State University Extension and Outreach in offering "Managing Your Unseen Employee: The Ventilation System" at five different Iowa locations at no cost. The series is sponsored by Automated Production Systems (AP) and lunch is provided courtesy of Iowa Pork Producers Association.

Brett Ramirez of ISU agricultural and biosystems engineering said the daylong program provides a two-pronged approach to understanding issues and consequences of decisions by combining classroom instruction with hands-on trials and application of knowledge gained in a real-world setting.

"Session content is divided into three categories delivered classroom style and a fourth that provides hands-on learning," he said. "In that final portion, attendees will be able to see and feel the impacts that design, maintenance and management can have on various ventilation practices through the use of Iowa State’s 24-foot mobile Swine Ventilation Trailer."

See more information in the workshop series brochure.

All workshops run from 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Attendance is limited to 32 participants at each location and people may sign up for one location only. Preregistration is required using this online form.

Workshop dates, locations and preregistration contacts are below.

March 15, Sutherland, Northwest Research and Demonstration Farm, 6320 500th St.
Contact: Dave Stender, dstender@iastate.edu, 712-225-6196

March 16, Emmetsburg, Iowa Lakes Community College, 3200 College Dr.
Contact: Dave Stender, dstender@iastate.edu, 712-225-6196

March 17, Radcliffe, Hands On Excavating Shop, 3305 Ziegler Ave.
Contact: Russ Euken, reuken@iastate.edu, 641-923-2856

March 18, Cresco, Howard County Fairgrounds, Featherlite Center, 220 7th Street West,
Contact: Mark Storlie, mstorlie@iastate.edu, 563-425-3331

March 19, Iowa City, Johnson County Extension Office, 3109 Old Hwy 218 S.
Contact: Matt Romoser, mromoser@iastate.edu, 319-430-7533

-30- 

IPIC was established in 1994 as a coordinated effort of the colleges of Agriculture (now Agriculture and Life Sciences) and Veterinary Medicine at ISU. Its mission is to promote efficient pork production technologies in Iowa, maintain Iowa's pork industry leadership and strengthen rural development efforts. IPIC focuses its efforts on programs that are integral and complementary to ISU Extension and Outreach. Through IPIC, Iowa producers receive accurate and timely information to make their operations more efficient and profitable.

Contact:
Brett Ramirez, agricultural and biosystems engineering, 515-294-0468, bramirez@iastate.edu
Writer:
Sherry Hoyer, Iowa Pork Industry Center, 515-294-4496, shoyer@iastate.edu

 

2021 News and releases