Daily state and region
Iowa-Minn A.M.
Iowa-Minn P.M.
Western Cornbelt A.M.
Western Cornbelt P.M.
Market Summary

Weekly state and region
Iowa-Central U.S. feeder

Daily national
Base Carc. Slaughter Cost
Prior Day Purchase Swine
Prior Day Slaughter Swine
National Carlot Pork Report
Est. Livestock Slaughter
USDA Livestock Slaughter

Est. meat production
Actual Livestock Slaughter
Estimated Red Meat Production

ISU Current Crush Margins
K-State Marketing Web Site

IPIC offers Transport Quality Assurance certification programs to the industry.


How does a person who grew up in small Iowa towns, graduated from Iowa State University with a B.S. in forestry, and worked with the U.S. Forest Service in the Idaho Panhandle National Forest doing wildland firefighting become the university’s swine farms manager? Just ask Jeff Hartwig, who’s been in that position since October, about the unique perspective he brings to the job.


Two Iowa State University undergraduate students have spent the past 10 months actively participating in the National Pork Board’s social media campaign, #RealPigFarming. See how Lexi Marek and Katlyn Kahler help connect consumers with farmers who share their story of pork production on the blog “PorkCares.”

IPIC, IPPA and ISU Extension and Outreach are offering a series of free PQAPlus and TQA training sessions throughout the state this summer, including sessions at World Pork Expo. Those interested in attending any session should preregister by calling IPPA at 515-225-7675 or emailing See the list of locations, dates and times on the IPPA website.


Pork producers are invited to attend either of two workshops focusing on advanced swine reproductive management topics scheduled for next month in northwest and northeast Iowa. Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, Iowa Pork Industry Center and Iowa Pork Producers Association are sponsoring the June 10 and 11 seminars in Le Mars and Waverly.


Four undergraduates with Iowa/Iowa State connections are among the 21 college students receiving scholarships from the Pork Checkoff. ISU senior in animal science Matt Romoser was one of the top two candidates and will receive a $3,500 scholarship. He plans to pursue a masters degree in reproductive biology at ISU after completing his bachelors program. Benjamin Smith, animal science/ag systems technology major, and Morgan Pittz, animal science major, each received a $1,000 scholarship, as did Hayden WIlliams of Iowa Falls who's a student at Wabash College. Read more on the NPB website.


The fourth annual Iowa Swine Day at Iowa State University will be held June 25. Topics include the world protein supply, preparing for new swine diseases, and other pork production-related issues. The $60 registration fee includes coffee, snacks, lunch and copy of the proceedings. There is a $35 registration fee discount for students. These early registration fees end June 12.


The final year of Smithfield-funded grant program offers $225,000 for projects that advance and enhance swine production in Iowa. Proposals are due to the Iowa Attorney General's Farm Division by June 1. More info, including background of the program, descriptions of previously funded projects, and links to application forms, is on the Iowa AG website.




Find your ISU Extension swine program specialist (click on map)

swine program specialist map


News Archives

Iowa State University© 2011 | Site Map | Nondiscrimination and Information Disclosures | Web Site Questions | Mission Statement |